Over 10 years we help companies reach their financial and branding goals. Maxbizz is a values-driven consulting agency dedicated.




411 University St, Seattle


Texas Athletics Hall of Honor inducts 24 new members

Two classes of Longhorn Legends — 23 former University of Texas student-athletes and one former coach  — were inducted into the Texas Athletics Hall of Honor at an event on Friday, Oct. 15 at the LBJ Auditorium and Conference Center. The group included 10 Longhorn greats recently selected for the Class of 2021 as well as the 14 that were chosen for the Class of 2020 last year. Due to COVID-19 protocols, Texas Athletics was not able to honor the 2020 Hall of Honor Class in person so that group will be honored alongside the 2021 Class. The newest Hall of Honor members were also be recognized on the field during the Longhorns football game with Oklahoma State that Saturday. 

Announced in 2020, the 66th Men’s Hall of Honor class includes: D.J. Augustin (Basketball, 2006-08), a consensus first-team All-American and first-team Academic All-American who earned the Bob Cousy Award as the nation’s top point guard while guiding the Longhorns to the Elite Eight in 2007-08; Jamaal Charles (Football, 2005-07; Track & Field, 2006-07), a three-time All-Big 12 selection on the gridiron and member of the 2005 National Championship team who ranks fourth on the UT all-time rushing list (3,328 yards) and is a four-time All-American and Big 12 100-meter champion on the track; Brad Elder(Golf, 1995-98), a four-time All-American who won the 1997 Fred Haskins Award as the nation’s top collegiate golfer and led the Longhorns to a third-place team finish at the 1995 NCAA Championship; Jordan Shipley (Football, 2006-09), a two-time All-American who finished his career as the Longhorns’ all-time leader in receptions (248) and ranked second in receiving yards (3,191) and TD catches (33); David Thomas (Football, 2002-05), a three-time All-Big 12 selection who finished his career as UT’s all-time leader among tight ends in receptions (98), receiving yards (1,367) and TD catches (15) and a member of the 2005 National Championship team; and P.J. Tucker (Basketball, 2003-06), a second-team All-American and Big 12 Player of the Year who led the Longhorns to the Elite Eight in 2005-06. Vintage selections Glenn Blackwood (Football, 1976-78) and Rick Bradley (Baseball, 1973-75) in addition to Special Selection Tom Penders (Basketball head coach, 1988-98).

The 21st Women’s Hall of Honor announced in 2020 class includes: Alexandria Anderson (Track & Field, 2006-09), a three-time NCAA individual champion and 20-time All-American who led the Longhorns to the 2006 NCAA Indoor team title; Erika Hansen-Stebbins (Swimming & Diving, 1990-92), a two-time U.S. Olympic team member, an NCAA individual champion and nine-time All-American who guided UT to NCAA team titles in 1990 and 1991; Juliann Faucette Johnson(Volleyball, 2007-10), a three-time All-American, 2007 AVCA National Freshman of the Year and 2010 Big 12 Player of the Year who led Texas to three-straight NCAA Semifinals appearances; Kasey Moore Powers(Soccer, 2005-08), the only three-time United Soccer Coaches All-American in program history and a two-time Big 12 Defensive Player ofthe Year who led the Longhorns to four NCAA Tournament appearances, a pair of Big 12 tournament titles and the No. 1 ranking in the national polls for the only time in school history; and Heather (Schreiber) Stark (Basketball, 2001-05), a four-time All-Big 12 selection and a 2004 Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American who helped Texas win two Big 12 regular-season titles, the 2003 Big 12 Tournament championship and advance to the 2003 Final Four

Texas Vice President and Athletics Director Chris Del Conte

The 67th Men’s Hall of Honor class includes: Mike Adams (Football, 1992-93, 1995-96), a three-time All-Conference selection who finished his career as UT’s all-time leading receiver in yards (3,032), touchdowns (16) and receptions (177) and was the school’s all-purpose yards leader (5,822); Clay Britt (Swimming & Diving, 1980-83), a six-time NCAA individual and relay champion who led Texas to its first NCAA team title in 1981; Richard Duncan (Track & Field, 1994-97), a two-time Olympian, 1996 NCAA Outdoor long jump champion and eight-time All-American who is the only athlete in NCAA Division I history to earn All-America honors in the long jump, triple jump and high jump in the same season; Peter Gardere (Football, 1989-92), the only quarterback in the history of the Red River Showdown to lead his team to victory in all four seasons; and J.P. Howell (Baseball, 2003-04), a two-time All-American pitcher who led the Longhorns to a third-place finish at the College World Series in 2003 and a runner-up showing in 2004.

The 22nd Women’s Hall of Honor class includes: Jessica Livingston Gibson (Swimming & Diving, 2006-07, ’09), the 2007 NCAA individual champion in platform diving who was a five-time All-American, four-time Big 12 individual champion and three-time Big 12 Women’s Diver of the Year; Courtney Okolo (Track & Field, 2013-16), an Olympic Gold medalist and 2016 Bowerman Award winner who was a four-time NCAA individual champion and 16-time All-American; Tobie Smith(Swimming & Diving, 1992-95), the 1994 NCAA individual champion in the 1,650-yard freestyle who was a 10-time All-American and three-time Honorable Mention All-American; Bailey Webster (Volleyball, 2009, ’11-13), a three-time first-team All-American and NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player who led the Longhorns to the 2012 National Championship; and Nikki Busch Zigler (Volleyball, 1988-91), a two-time All-American and two-time Southwest Conference Player of the Year who helped the Longhorns to the 1988 NCAA Championship.

Source link



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *